• The Workbook
  • Posts
  • The 3 boundaries I can't live without šŸ™…ā€ā™€ļø

The 3 boundaries I can't live without šŸ™…ā€ā™€ļø

And fix your Excel formatting in seconds

Hey there! ā€˜Tis the season for gifting, and what better gift to give than the ultimate tool to level-up their career?

From mastering PowerPoint to excelling in Excel, from navigating OneNote to crushing AI, there are are tons of Miss Excel courses available you can gift to your loved ones. And for a limited time, all courses are 50% with the code GIFT50!

If you want to give a gift that says: ā€œ2024 will be your best professional year yet,ā€ trust me: This is it!

P.S. ā€“ This is a great gifting option for you last-minute holiday shoppers. Best part? No need to deal with the holiday frenzy or long lines from visiting a store IRL. šŸ˜‰

Your Knowledge Base Just Got Smarter

Imagine if you could train an AI chatbot on your companyā€™s organizational documents for easy searchability, summarization, and analysis? Wouldnā€™t that be smart?

Petal thought soā€”and they created Petal AI to do it. Upload your documents to enable full text search and automate the management of your knowledge library, including granular access controls.

Trusted by MIT libraries and 500,000+ students, researchers, and academics world-wide, Petal is the AI research assistant that cites its sources, surfacing accurate, reliable, and relevant information. Because we deserve a smart AI chatbot!

Are you ready to make your orgā€™s knowledge base truly intelligent?

Try it out for free at Petal.org. For 20% off any purchase tier, use code theworkbook20 at checkout.

Fix Your Formatting in SecondsĀ 

Isnā€™t it the worst when you receive an Excel file from a co-worker or a client and the formatting is a mess? Maybe there are different fonts, colors, or so much white space you donā€™t even know what youā€™re looking at.Ā 

Sure, you could update each cell individually. But it would take hours (and probably end with you wanting to throw the entire computer away). šŸ™ƒ

Luckily, I have a tip for you thatā€™ll fix your formatting problems instantly. Ready? Letā€™s go!Ā 

Step 1) Highlight your data set.Ā 

Step 2) On the Home ribbon under Editing, select the Eraser icon and scroll down to Clear Formats.Ā 

Step 3) Thatā€™s it! The formatting is cleared and your text has returned to its default style.Ā 

If you want to see this tip in action, Iā€™ve got you: Hereā€™s my video teaching you how to do this in under 30 seconds.Ā 

The Three Boundaries I Set in My Professional LifeĀ 

In 2020, I started doing inner healing (i.e., meditation, reflection, dismantling limiting beliefs, etc) and realized how powerful our energy is. It impacts our motivation, focus, creativity, etc.Ā 

So when we agree to things that drain usā€”AKA deplete our energy sourceā€”we lose opportunities for professional growth.Ā 

Enter: Boundaries.

Boundaries help you channel your energy where itā€™s most needed. Almost four years ago, I started setting boundaries at my 9-5 (we do spend ā…“ of our lives at work, after all!) and I still abide by these boundaries today:Ā 

1. Time Boundary āžœ I used to accept every single meeting request at my consulting job. Then I got the courage to ask my boss: Could this be an email? How can this be more productive?Ā 

By prodding into every meetingā€™s purpose (instead of just blindly accepting the invite), I not only reduced meeting time: I became 10X more efficient. Iā€™d breeze through my to-dos, feel more focused, and get to leave work early. šŸ˜‰

Today, I donā€™t accept calls for Miss Excel unless theyā€™re absolutely necessary!Ā 

2. Conversation Boundary āžœ I got strict about what I would and would not chat about with co-workers. While I donā€™t technically have co-workers today, this applies to my career as a content creator: I ignore any negative comments on my videos.Ā 

By refusing to engage with low-vibrational people, I can better preserve my sanity, mental health, and you guessed itā€¦energy!Ā 

3. Bandwidth Boundary āžœ Back in my consulting days, I always took on additional work (even if I was drowning in projects). The result? I'd end up exhausted and burnt out.Ā 

Iā€™ve since learned to say ā€œnoā€ when my plate is full.Ā My go-to phrase at the office was:Ā 

  • ā€œWhatā€™s the priority level of this additional assignment? My bandwidth is limited, so it would be great to know which projects youā€™d like to see done first.ā€Ā 

ā€œThatā€™s cool Kat, butā€¦how do I figure out my professional boundaries?ā€Ā 

I got you! Start by reflecting on your work routine: What feels off-key? Ending days too late? Too much on your plate? Boss requesting to follow you on Instagram? From there, ā€œtuneā€ those areas in your life by setting the appropriate boundary.Ā 

Itā€™s not easy to put your foot down. But whenever you feel discomfort bubble up, just remember this quote by author (and absolute icon) BrenĆ© Brown:Ā 

ā€œDaring to set boundaries is about having the courage to love ourselves even when we risk disappointing others.ā€Ā 

Work boundaries donā€™t just make you a better professional: They show that you respectā€”and ultimately loveā€”yourself. ā£ļø

  • How to reverse your Excel data in 15 seconds (feat. Taylor Swift šŸŽ¶)Ā 

  • Weā€™re all about goal-setting for 2024. But donā€™t forget to review your 2023, too.Ā 

  • Three research-backed ways to overcome that dreaded 3 PM slump (IYKYK).Ā 

  • Have you heard of micro-schedling? Itā€™s when you plan your day by 15-minute incrementsā€“and apparently, it works wonders.

Thank you for being here! Iā€™m currently cooking up something āœØ extra āœØ special for you next week in celebration of the holidays. Youā€™ll want to star this oneā€”itā€™s packed with Excel tips youā€™ll refer to time and time again.Ā 

Stay Exceling,

Kat