• The Workbook
  • Posts
  • How to build a thriving course business šŸ“ˆ

How to build a thriving course business šŸ“ˆ

Plus: Track your projects in Excel!

Hi! To those of you who attended the XLOOKUP and VLOOKUP webinars: Thank you for being the best students ever! Couldnā€™t make it? No sweatā€”Iā€™m already planning more free classes. Which brings me to askā€¦when should I host them? šŸ¤—

Which day of the week do you prefer?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Which time do you prefer?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

How to Keep Track of Your Projects With ExcelĀ 

Picture this: Youā€™re at a job interview. Everything is going well until the interviewer asks, ā€œSo, how do you stay organized while managing a project?ā€Ā Ā 

While youā€™re not ā€œdisorganizedā€ per se, you know the honest answerā€”ā€œI just keep track of stuff in my head!ā€ā€”isnā€™t going to cut it. šŸ™ƒ Thatā€™s when this Excel formula, which shows how many days are in between tasks, comes in handy. It lets you plan your workload in advance so you can accommodate for those shorter turnaround times (AKA, be super on top of things).

Hereā€™s how it works:Ā 

Step 1) Set up your project planner in Excel.Ā 

Step 2) In your desired cell, start by typing the formula =DAYS360Ā 

Step 3) Select your start date (A2) and the second immediate date (A3) before closing with parentheses. The formula is now =DAYS360(A2,A3)Ā 

Step 4) Click and drag! Voila. Now, youā€™ll be able to stay organized (and impress your interviewer šŸ˜‰) by knowing the exact time flow of every task within your project.Ā 

How I Built a Thriving Course BusinessĀ 

I started Miss Excel from my childhood bedroom in 2020 (feels like yesterday! šŸ„²). Since then, Iā€™ve launched over 12 online courses to help people level up in Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, and even AI.Ā 

Online courses are the cornerstone of my business, generating well over seven figures in revenue. The best thing about courses? Scalability. Once created, online courses expand my impact and bring in revenue without additional effort.Ā 

Behind the scenes of creating a course (shout out to Hu chocolates for powering me through šŸ¤£)

If youā€™re thinking about creating an online course, youā€™re in the right place. Here are my top two tips for running a successful online course business:Ā 

1. Go All InĀ 

Around 80% of online courses use a slideshow or green screen and call it a day. Sure, those will get your point across, but the best courses are those that are creative, immersive, and fun. To stand out, go all in.Ā 

For each course, I go the extra mile. Iā€¦

  • Use storytelling. Course attendees can expect made-up characters, anecdotes, music, and wild green screens (picture: safaris or winter wonderlands). These all create an immersiveā€”and therefore engagingā€”experience.Ā 

  • Prepare a take-home gift. I hired an ā€˜Excel Spreadsheet Designerā€™ (yes, they exist!) to create colorful, interactive spreadsheets that students can download after the course and practice the material at home.Ā 

  • Dress up. For example, I wore a winter outfit for my ā€˜Freezing Panes in Excelā€™ lesson. The more entertaining, the more approachable the material becomes.Ā 

Donā€™t be the teacher whoā€™s reading bullet points straight off of a slideshow. To truly teach others, infuse creativity and effort into each lesson. Not only will people love learning from you, but youā€™ll have more fun teaching, too!Ā 

2. Donā€™t Be Afraid of Selling.Ā 

Before launching my first course, the idea of advertising made me shudder. Me? Asking people for money?! No, thank you.Ā 

But soon, I realized: You arenā€™t selling a ā€œcourse.ā€ Youā€™re selling a skill.Ā 

Excel used to be frustrating and intimidating. But once I mastered it, I landed a promotion (and a raise!). That feeling of reaching mastery was amazing. I wanted to give others that same sense of confidenceā€”and my courses do just that. Upon realizing that, promoting the courses came naturally.Ā 

ā€œBut Kat, I donā€™t have any skills that people would be interested in.ā€Ā 

If youā€™re thinking this, remember: The knowledge you consider ordinary could be extraordinarily valuable to others. Someone, somewhere, needs to hear only what you know. āœØ

A Quick Shout Outā€¦

Earlier this year, I hired my incredible friend Carissa as a social media manager. But Carissa isnā€™t just gifted in socials: She runs Vision Boards Charcuterie, a NYC-based charcuterie board business with designs that are certain to Blow. You. Away. šŸ¤©

Likeā€¦are you not impressed?!

If you have any future hosting plans, Carissaā€™s got you covered. Order beautifully designed platters, or even create your own using her patent-pending ā€œBleuprintā€ charcuterie stencil. I just got mine in the mail and have been obsessed!Ā 

Thanks for being here! Iā€™m off to clean my deskā€”itā€™s always chaotic after hosting webinars! I splay out everything from crystals to beverages (and also do a few kundalini chants) to get in the right mindset. It works every time, but the clean-up is a different story. šŸ™ƒ

Stay Exceling,

Kat