How to find your people

Say goodbye to a repetitive task in Excel

Hey, you! I hope your January is going well so far. It’s my birthday soon and I am pumped. The plan is to spend it at an all-inclusive ✨ high vibe ✨ resort with Mike, where for a week we’ll do yoga, meditation, and all that good stuff. Shoutout to my fellow Capricorns, who are known for being ambitious, loyal, self-sufficient, and persistent. You rock! 🎉

How To Update Numbers Automatically in Excel 

Everyone has those repetitive, manual, not-so-fun tasks on their to-do list: watering your plants (even though they’re not doing too hot 🌵), sending invoices to clients, or updating numbers in your Excel spreadsheets by hand.

Although I can’t help you with the first two things, I do have an Excel trick up my sleeve that you can use to update numbers automatically. 

To get there, we’ll need to use both the =SEQUENCE and =COUNTA functions. If you’re thinking, “Kat, two functions?! That sounds complicated," I promise you it’s way easier than it sounds. Let me show you how it’s done. 💃🏼

Step One: Select the cell in which you want your number list to start and write =SEQUENCE(COUNTA

Step Two: In the same cell, add the column your count is referencing. In our case, that’s (B:B). It’s in this format because Excel won’t let you put the letter B without a second value (but adding the second B signals to Excel you’d like to have infinite numbers for the whole column). Then, close out your formula.

And there you have it! The function automatically handles the rest and updates the remaining column (here’s this tip in video format if you’d prefer to see it in action).

You have a bunch of ways to use this tip. For example, you’ll never need to manually number the rows in your dataset (and if you have hundreds, this is a lifesaver).

Or, say you handle inventory and want to find out how many units of something were sold. This formula can count that for you, too!

The *coolest* part of this tip is if you keep adding to column B, the function will continue to number it for you.

It’s small, but little things like this add up to save a lot of time (so you can focus on bringing those plants back to life). 😉

How To Build An Authentic Community 

Drumroll, please. 🥁 Not long ago, I asked if you had any questions that I could answer in the LifeTip section—and today we have our very first question from Kayla W.!

“I’m from Florida. I have known people my whole life in my town, and now I’d love to build an authentic community here with people who love me for me (and not just because our grandparents are friends). How do I go about doing this?” 

—Kayla W.

Such a relatable question. I still remember the day I moved to Sedona, and amidst the piles of cardboard boxes and crumpled bubble wrap, I couldn’t help but feel nervous.

Here I was, in a new city, and my circle only included Mike (my partner). I had to find a new group of friends and a community—and I knew this wouldn’t come as easily as it did back in college (you know what they say about making friends as an adult).

But today, I’m blessed with *amazing* friends who light me up and inspire me.

It can feel daunting to foster new relationships, but the benefits (less stress and a sense of belonging and purpose, to name two) are so worth it. Here are my three tips if you’re trying to find your people. 🤗

Tip 1️⃣ Find your “third place.” A third place is a social environment that’s not your home (1st place) or work (2nd place), such as gyms, bookstores, and cafes. They’re a great way to connect with others over shared interests. I went to a bunch of kundalini yoga classes and connected with people there!

Tip 2️⃣ Swap “I hope they like me” for “I hope I like them.” It might sound simple, but this small change can make a big difference in reducing your social anxiety. Come from a place of self-love and you’ll be more likely to make real, honest connections.

Tip 3️⃣ Manifest it. Embody the energy of someone who already has a supportive community to attract it into your life. It’s similar to when someone lights up a room and you’re instantly drawn to them. If you tap into that same energy, people feel more comfortable approaching you.

Most importantly, remember to be patient. Building a new community isn't always an easy process, but I promise that your people are out there. It took me about six months before I really felt like Sedona was my home, so go easy on yourself and remember that good things take time. ✨

Would you like to see your questions answered in the LifeTip section? Hit reply and let me know—I can’t wait to hear from you! 

The Pillow for Side Sleepers

The ideal sleeping position is on the side, but without the proper support, a good morning is not in the forecast. With an adjustable design, the Marlow Pillow adapts to give side sleepers the support they need. It's made with a proprietary fill of memory foam and polyester fiber made using NASA technology and a unique zippered design for easy adjustability, allowing users to find the exact loft profile that fits them.

At the same time, cooling-infused memory foam and ventilated zipper gussets help create better airflow and regulate your body temperature, so you stay cool during the night, while its antimicrobial shell repels unwelcomed guests like dust mites and bacteria.

The pillow has been perfected over eight years with numerous surveys and prototypes and tons of research, but to ensure satisfaction, it's also backed by Brooklinen's best-in-class customer service and a risk-free warranty.

Save up to 40% in bundles + an extra 10% off here.

  • Every morning I do a virtual meditation on Choices and Outcomes. Here’s the link if you’d like to join! 

  • This 52-page BYOB (Build Your Own Business) guide will teach you how to build a side hustle 30 days 🤩

  • If you’re someone who turned their creativity into a career, you’ll dig this book

  • Who needs Photoshop when you can remove backgrounds in Excel? My 11-second video teaches you how! 

  • How to save yourself 10 hours a week. You know we love anything that makes our lives easier and with Office Otter’s new app, you can streamline all your to-do list management by never having to leave the app you’re working in (say a Microsoft teams or Outlook conversation, or even your text messages). Check it out and start thinking about what you’re gonna do with all that free time!* 

  • Are you graduating college this year? If so, these 14 tips will help you apply to jobs. 

  • Lately, I’ve been digging these kinds of YouTube videos as background noise while I work. Something about jazz gets me so focused. 

*This is sponsored advertising content.

Here’s a challenge for you: Try to get sunlight before screen time. 🌞 According to Dr. Andrew Huberman, going outside right after waking up can boost dopamine, wakefulness, and focus.

I know the idea of stepping outside on a January morning might be daunting, but it doesn’t have to be for long. Even just a few minutes in the sun can lead to some big health benefits!

Stay Excelent,

Kat